Google Drive Tips N Tricks

Google Docs – Let the ideas flow and don’t let the distance stop you

Google Docs is one of the applications that is provided by Google to create and edit a document. The documents which are saved will be stored in Google Drive (The cloud storage system of Google).




With Google Drive creating, editing and sharing documents and files have become easier. Let us look into how Google Docs helps us get our team to exchange ideas sitting at different places. The only requirement is an internet connection.

How to share documents using Google Docs?

Google Docs gives you the option to share a document so that your team members can edit them from their desk. You do not have to worry if they did not send the file after updating; with Google Docs it is available for you at any time. google-docs-sharing

Now brainstorming sessions are easier and efficient. Let us look into the steps involved in sharing with Google Docs.

  1. As I mentioned before, any files created or edited will be saved to Google Drive. So we have two options to open or create a document.
  2. You can either go to Google Drive, or you can directly go to https://docs.google.com/ and log in. In Google Drive click on “New” button to create a new document (You will get an option saying “Google Docs”). In the Google Docs page, you will see a big ‘+’ sign. Click on that and a new document will be opened.
  3. Once you have created a new document, click on the “Share” button that is present at the top right corner of the window.
  4. In the new box enter the email addresses of your team members with whom you want to share the document. In that window itself you can give permissions also – to edit, to comment and to view.





Other than the above options, there is an advanced option section available. In that section, you will get the link of your document so that you can share the document with the fellow collaborators.

READ  Google comes up with another gem ‘Save to Google’ in the cloud

In the advanced section you can change the access types (public, anyone who has the link and specific people) also. You have the option to change the owner settings in the advanced options.

Link sharing

You can prevent the editors from changing or adding access type and new people. You would have given some people the permission to only comment or view; you can disable the download option for them.

Tips: The document which is shared by giving link can still be published on the web. You can see the changes made by other people online but if you want to see the changes and time made from the beginning you can go to File menu and choose “See revision history”.

About the author

Learning Hub Editorial Team

We are a team of tech enthusiasts who find Google Apps and its features intriguing. Let us know your views if you find us helpful.

Leave a Comment